Hi,
So, last year, I went for my first ever audition! It wasn’t for anything major, just a little youth theatre production. To be honest, I wasn’t really fussed if I got in or not, I just wanted to audition, so I could see what an audition was like, and what I needed to do to make sure my next audition is as best as it could be!
What I had to do for this audition was prepare a 2-3 minute classical monologue. So I did a bit of research on the play I was auditioning for, to see if it was a comedy, or dramatic play, (It’s Volpone, which is a comedy!), and decided that I would do Viola’s monologue from Twelfth Night. I looked at you tube clips to see how other people performed it, and I found a video of a young Judi Dench performing it, which quickly became my bible.
I watched her do it, and then tried to figure out how to make it my own. I then decided I would use a ring as a prop, and I’d try to be very comedic, but not too comedic. I practised in front of my mirror, trying different approaches. I managed to learn it, but that was definitely a lot harder than I expected! I wasn’t too nervous beforehand, until the day of the audition. I practised most of the day, and quickly found myself stumbling a little bit on my lines. I knew the lines, but I definitely wasn’t confident.
Then it came time to do my audition.
I was terrified.
Thankfully, when I get there, there was a girl who used to go to my school signing me in, and we had a good chat, which took my mind off the nerves. I got sent down really quickly to the audition room. We were in this dance school, so I was in a dance studio with big mirrors in front of me. There were two people auditioning me, and they were really nice. They said not to worry if I needed to stop, which did calm me down. It was a lot less scary than I thought, but I was still very nervous! Then I realised I’d left my ring upstairs, So my head panicked. I just sort of looked at my hand as if I was holding a ring. I might have looked like a numpty! I started. It went ok, they were laughing at the parts they were supposed to laugh at which was a good sign!
Then, every actors nightmare, I forgot my lines. I just paused.
shit shit shit shit
I quickly apologised and carried on.
Then I forgot my lines again!
I nervously laughed “I promised I learnt them!”
Carried on,
Forgot
Made up some lines
Carried on.
At the end, I gave some more nervous laughter, “Got there in the end!”
When I left, I saw yet someone else I knew! Small world eh! People asked how it went.
“Great!”
Big fat lie.
But surprisingly, I didn’t feel bad about it. Yes, I was annoyed because as soon as I left, the words came back, but I didn’t mind.
I did an audition. First audition. I’m proud I did it! This time last year, I wouldn’t have imagined I could do it. It may not have went perfect, but it was my first try, I know what an audition is like, I know what I can do to prepare better, I did my best!
Then, a few days later, I got an email!
Somehow, they seemed to like me enough to offer me a part!
Avocatori 2
I know what you may be thinking, but I’m surprised I got any part at all considering my audition! I actually had a fair few lines too!
So, what have I learnt? I have a fair way to go before I can ace an audition like Judi Dench!
See you soon,
Beth
