Hi,

So it’s the Oscars tomorrow! I’m so excited!!! Both as a film lover, and a dress, hair, and makeup lover, the Oscars are one of the best nights of the year! I love guessing who’s going to win in each category (Even best sound editing).

Here are the nominations, and also who I think Should win, who I think Will win, my Personal favourite to win, and who I think Should have been nominated (in the categories I have some knowledge of).

Best picture

Arrival
Fences
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
La La Land
Lion
Manchester By the Sea
Moonlight

Should Win: Moonlight

Will Win: Now this is tricky. I could go with the safe option and choose La La Land. But after Spotlight’s shock win last year, I’m very tempted to go with Hell or High Water. Hmm… I’m going to say La La Land (But if Hell or High Water wins, I totally chose that)

Personal Favourite: No question, La La Land. 

Should have been nominated: It’s always such a tough category, and all of these films are deserving, but there are a lot of films which are equally deserving. Where do I begin? *Takes a deep breath*

I, Daniel Blake

Deadpool

Captain America Civil War

I, Daniel Blake…

Loving

Silence

I, Daniel Blake

Jackie

The Nice Guys

Sing Street

I, DANIEL BLAKE

Best cinematography

Arrival
La La Land
Lion
Moonlight
Silence

Should Win: Silence

Will Win: La La Land

Personal Favourite: La La Land

Should have been nominated: Nocturnal Animals, or Rouge One: A Star Wars Story

Best supporting actor

Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)
Jeff Bridges (Hell or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester By the Sea)
Dev Patel (Lion)
Michael Shannon (Nocturnal Animals)

Should Win: Mahershala Ali or Dev Patel

Will Win: Jeff Bridges

Personal Favourite: Dev Patel. I’ve been a big fan of Dev ever since I saw Skins. He’s such a wonderful young actor and I cannot wait to see what he does next.

Should have been nominated: Aaron Taylor Johnson (Nocturnal Animals)

Best documentary

Fire at Sea
I Am Not Your Negro
Life, Animated
OJ: Made in America
13th

I do not have a clue sorry!

Best foreign language film

Land of Mine
A Man Called Ove
The Salesman
Tanna
Toni Erdmann

Should Win: The Salesman. Due to tango Trump’s banning of people from 7 Muslim majority countries from America, the Director of this film Asghar Farhadi cannot even go to the Oscars. Despite this, this is an intelligent film following the strain of marriage.

Will Win: Toni Erdmann

Personal Favourite: Toni Erdmann

Should have been nominated: Julieta. Wonderfully harrowing. Also Elle, but that wasn’t eligible for nomination apparently. I’ve tried searching for why, but I’m just going to assume it’s due to Isabelle Huppert’s Best Actress nomination.

Best actor

Casey Affleck (Manchester By the Sea)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
Denzel Washington (Fences)

Should Win: Viggo Mortensen or Andrew Garfield, or Denzel Washington

Will Win: Casey Affleck

Personal Favourite: Guilty favourite is Ryan Gosling, However, I really want Andrew Garfield to win. I think he is a underrated young actor, (also he was in Doctor Who so that gives him bonus points). Yes I am aware I have mentioned every nominee (despite what I think of Casey *cough* SEXUAL ASSAULTER *cough* Affleck), but this is a tough category.

Should have been nominated: Ryan Reynolds (Deadpool), Joel Edgerton (Loving), Colin Farrell (The Lobster), Tom Hanks (Sully)

Best costume design

Allied
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Florence Foster Jenkins
Jackie
La La Land

Should Win: Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, or Jackie

Will Win: La La Land or Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, dependent on which way the Academy want to go.

Personal Favourite: La La Land for me captured the perfect blend of vintage, golden age Hollywood, but you wouldn’t bat an eye if you saw the outfits on the street.

Should have been nominated: Kubo and The Two Strings, Yes I know it’s animated, but tiny costumes can be nominated too you know!

Best score

Jackie
La La Land
Lion
Moonlight
Passengers

Should Win: La La Land, But also Jackie. Beautifully haunting, capturing the essence of the film.

Will Win: La La Land

Personal Favourite: La La Land

Should have been nominated: The BFG, Nocturnal Animals

Best song

Audition (The Fools Who Dream) (La La Land)
Can’t Stop the Feeling! (Trolls)
City of Stars (La La Land)
The Empty Chair (Jim: The James Foley Story)
How Far I’ll Go (Moana)

Should Win: Audition (The Fools Who Dream) or How Far I’ll Go

Will Win: City of Stars

Personal Favourite: Audition (The Fools Who Dream) has the most stunning lyrics, with Emma Stone’s authentic performance. Also How Far I’ll Go because I want Lin Manuel Miranda to get his EGOT. Can I also add Can’t Stop the Feeling! That song is damn catchy and feel good!

Should have been nominated: Anything from Sing Street, or Another Day of Sun or Someone in the Crowd both from La La Land. Also Angel by the Wings for The Eagle Huntress by Sia. It is one of the most stunning songs I have ever heard.

Best sound editing

Arrival
Deepwater Horizon
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Sully

I do not have a clue sorry!

Best sound mixing

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
13 Hours

I do not have a clue sorry!

Best documentary short

4.1 Miles
Extremis
Joe’s Violin
Watani: My Homeland
The White Helmets

I do not have a clue sorry!

Best production design

Arrival
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Hail, Caesar!
La La Land
Passengers

Should Win: Hail, Caesar! is very similar in aspects to La La Land, and both are visually stunning.

Will Win: La La Land

Personal Favourite: La La Land, and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

Should have been nominated: Jackie, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, and The Jungle Book

Best original screenplay

Hell or High Water
La La Land
The Lobster
Manchester By the Sea
20th Century Women

Should Win: Hell or High Water or The Lobster

Will Win: Manchester By The Sea

Personal Favourite: La La Land

Should have been nominated: I, Daniel Blake, for it’s realistic portrayal of the Benefits system, Captain Fantastic, and Florence Foster Jenkins

Best adapted screenplay

Arrival
Fences
Hidden Figures
Lion
Moonlight

Should Win: Moonlight, Lion, or Fences

Will Win: Fences

Personal Favourite: La La- oh wait a second. Hidden Figures

Should have been nominated: Loving

Best animated feature

Kubo and the Two Strings
Moana
My Life As a Zucchini
The Red Turtle
Zootopia

Should Win: Kubo and the Two Strings

Will Win: Zootopia

Personal Favourite: La La- hold up. Moana

Should have been nominated: Finding Dory, and Pete’s Dragon. But top pick is The Jungle Book if it counts.

Best animated short

Blind Vaysha
Borrowed Time
Pear Cider and Cigarettes
Pearl
Piper

Should Win: PIPER

Will Win: PIPER

Personal Favourite: PIPER WAS THE CUTEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN

Should have been nominated: I don’t think it was eligible, but The Present

Best supporting actress

Viola Davis (Fences)
Naomie Harris (Moonlight)
Nicole Kidman (Lion)
Octavia Spencer (Hidden Figures)
Michelle Williams (Manchester By the Sea)

Should Win: Naomie Harris or Viola Davis

Will Win: Viola Davis

Personal Favourite:  The fact that three POC women were nominated!  But I love anything Viola Davis is in (yes even Suicide Squad, ish)

Should have been nominated: Hayley Squires (I, Daniel Blake), stunning portrayal of a single mother. I hope we see more of her in the near future.

Best film editing

Arrival
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Moonlight

Should Win: Arrival

Will Win: Arrival or La La Land

Personal Favourite: La La Land captured golden age cinema editing.

Should have been nominated: Lion or Deadpool

Best live-action short

Ennemis Interieurs
La Femme et le TGV
Silent Nights
Sing
Timecode

I do not have a clue sorry!

Best actress

Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Emma Stone (La La Land)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)

Should Win: Natalie Portman’s performance is haunting.

Will Win: Emma Stone

Personal Favourite: Emma Stone would be a worthy winner, the authenticity she gave Mia is unmistakable.

Should have been nominated: Where is Amy Adams and did the Academy see Arrival? There was talk of Amy being nominated twice for Arrival and Nocturnal Animals, so I was very surprised to not see her nominated.

Best director

Denis Villeneuve (Arrival)
Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge)
Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester By the Sea)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)

Should Win: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight was such a risky film to make, but it was so worth it.

Will Win: Damien Chazelle

Personal Favourite: Damien Chazelle

Should have been nominated: Ken Loach for showing the bitter real ness of the benefits system in I, Daniel Blake.

Best visual effects

Deepwater Horizon
Doctor Strange
The Jungle Book
Kubo and the Two Strings
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Should Win: Kubo and the Two Strings 

Will Win: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Personal Favourite: The Jungle Book was just so magical to revisit from when I was a child. It’s lovely to think a new generation of children will get to experience the magic with updated technology.

Should have been nominated: Very surprised to not see Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them.

Best makeup and hairstyling

A Man Called Ove
Star Trek Beyond
Suicide Squad

Should Win: Star Trek Beyond

Will Win: A Man Called Ove

Personal Favourite: Star Trek Beyond

Should have been nominated: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

I know I repeated La La Land a lot, but that was unintentional I promise!

The chances are most of these predictions will be wrong, but 2016 was such a strong year for film so these awards are the tightest they have been in recent memory. If you check my twitter after the awards, we will see what predictions were right!

See you soon!

Beth

