Hi,

As you may know, I hate people who wallow in self pity. It’s my number one pet peeve. I especially hate this when the self pity wallower is wallowing over something which can easily be fixed. I’m an optimist, so it really does annoy me when people are overly negative, or pessimistic. (I understand with depression and mental illness that’s a lot more complicated so I’m just referring to pessimists here)

People need to at least try to make life less difficult for themselves, so that they have less to complain about, and help themselves.

There’s a song in Matilda the musical (which I am dying to see!) called Naughty which perfectly sums this up! 

“Just because you find that life’s not fair, it

Doesn’t mean that you just have to grin and bear it.

If you always take it on the chin and wear it,

Nothing will change.

Even if you’re little you can do a lot, you

Mustn’t let a little thing like ‘little’ stop you.

If you sit around and let them get on top, you

Might as well be saying you think that it’s OK,

And that’s not right.”

“If you’re stuck in your story and want to get out,

“You don’t have to cry; you don’t have to shout.”

But nobody else is gonna put it right for me.

Nobody but me is gonna change my story.

Sometimes you have to be a little bit naughty!”

These are just some of the lyrics which sum it up!

Most struggles don’t go away by magic. You have to work to get rid of them, and I know that might be very hard, but you have to at least try. I don’t mind people who complain about something they are trying really hard to solve, that’s fair enough, you get frustrated. But if you don’t try to fix your bad situation, or see the best in a bad situation, then I’m sorry, but I’m not going to feel sorry for you. 

Fair enough, life can be a shit at times, but life can’t just stop, the world can’t stop turning. You have to be strong, you have to carry on. There are some situations which you won’t be able to solve, but you have to do your best to be optimistic, you have to try to see the best in a insolvable situation, and I know that this is so hard, and is easier said than done, but you have to try. Remember, everything is temporary, there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. When your situation is over, you will be stronger than you were before.

This post might not be very clear as I just poured my thoughts out, so I got this quote from Beyonce which is what I was trying to get across.

I only allow myself one day to feel sorry for myself. People who complain really get on my nerves. When I’m not feeling my best I ask myself, ‘What are you gonna do about it?’ I use the negativity to fuel the transformation into a better me.”


See you soon,
Beth 

