To whom it may concern,

You may not know me, or you may know me quite well. I regret to inform you of a mistake you have made in the past. You may recall telling me that I can’t become an actress.

Several reasons for your statement may include;

  • Not knowing why I wouldn’t want a normal job
  • Worrying I’ll end up like one of many unemployed actors
  • Thinking I don’t have a thick enough skin to handle the industry
  • Assuming I will end up letting people walk over me, and I will become a performing monkey just so I can make a living
  • Having the opinion I’m too naive to survive in the industry 
  • Concluding that I won’t be serious enough to be an actress
  • Finding I don’t speak like an actOOOr
  • Reasoning that I don’t look like an actress

I have provided for your consideration evidence to contradict your conclusions about my career.

  1. Who’s to say my job isn’t normal? My job would be to capture ‘normal’ life, and in some cases make it extraordinary. I also add that acting and drama is my normal. 
  2. The chances of my not making a career are regrettably quite high. Despite my grit and determination, I might end up only with a bit part in Casualty. Remarkably however, I have other skills! I have my qualifications, I enjoy writing, I enjoy directing, I work well with children, I’d like to create a theatre company, I’m interested in production, I’m interested in casting, I’m interested in networking, I’m interested in costume, I’m easily trainable. If worst comes to worst, I’ll work something out.
  3. You may have forgotten you are speaking to the girl who was told her mentality may not develop at the same rate of her peers, she may not be able to make friends, she is likely to be bullied and taken advantage of, she may need a carer/supervisor, she may never find love, she may never be independent, she will always be different. Have trust in the fact that being criticised on not being slim enough has nothing on what comes with an autism diagnosis. I can handle it.
  4. If you have thought I will become a performing monkey, then you don’t know me at all. You wouldn’t know I am a passionate person who would need a wrecking ball before my morals are broken. I have allowed people to walk over me when I was younger, but now I am older, I have finally learnt how to use the word ‘No’. I am the possession of a voice, and I have full intentions to use it.
  5. I am more than aware of how cut throat the industry is. Don’t mistake my optimism for naivety. 
  6. I enjoy having a laugh, I enjoy making other people smile. A set or rehearsal room should not be mistaken for an army base. Yes, you need to be professional at all times, and be able to focus on your work, but as her majesty Queen Judi Dench said, “I think you should take your job seriously, but not yourself – that is the best combination.”
  7. It may have caught your attention that I have a Scouse accent. I will not change my accent unless a role requires it. Sorry, but this desicion is final (also my mother might disown me). It may have also caught your attention that I have a slight lisp. I work on training my mouth muscles everyday to try and eradicate it, however please bear in mind that my communication abilities did not arrive when expected, and did not have the ability to speak until I was between the ages of 2 and 3. Give me a break.
  8. Actors mirror everyday life, we replicate our environment, we are supposed to look normal. Unless no one has green eyes, thick unruly eyebrows, a slightly fat nose, unusually long feet, and thick deep brown hair which is like wire, and instead has green skin, three eyes, and antennas, then I can make the assumption I look like an actress.

I am afraid to inform you that you have made an error in underestimating me, but I am pleased to say that this mistake can be easily rectfied.

Watch me.

Beth

